Phases of Healing

When an area of the body is injured the body immediately begins the process of healing itself. Below are the three phases of healing.

1. Inflammatory Phase: (0-5 days)

Body begins work to stop bleeding (both inside and out) and mobilize white blood cells to the area. White blood cells fight off foreign bodies (infection) and break down any dead tissue.

2. Repair or Proliferative Phase: (2 days – 3 weeks)

Cells called fibroblasts begin to lay down new collagen to fill in torn tissue. Collagen is a fibrous tissue that provides tensile strength to the new scar tissue. Wound edges also begin to pull together and new capillaries are formed.

3. Remodeling Phase: (3 weeks – 2 years)

New collagen is formed and achieves full maturation. Over time, the scar progressively diminishes bringing the torn edges closer together. Area of scar tissue is only 80% as strong as original tissue.

Full recovery to full capacity depends on:

  • The site of injury
  • How many muscles were involved
  • The severity of injury
    • Minor tear (Grade I sprain/strain)
    • Partial tear (Grade II sprain/strain)
    • Complete tear (Grade III sprain/strain)

James Heintz, DC, CCSP
Brian Sansalone, DC, CCSP
Tanner Brusnighan, DC

League City Chiropractic
1200 East Main Street
League City, TX 77573
Phone: 281-332-3428 
Fax: 281-332-7593

Office Hours: 
Monday 8-6:30
Tuesday 8-8
Wednesday 7-6:30
Thursday 8-8
Friday 7-4:30
Sat 9-2 


Payment Options: 
Payment Methods Accepted